It’s that time of year again

As I glance at the date of the last post, I find it rather amusing that I’m back a year later. I saw one of the WordPress developers mention something about the WordPress.com users being in for a surprise tomorrow, so I had to check things out. Yes, internal linking sounds like a good idea…

However, (saw that coming huh?) I now understand why I’ve become so frustrated while trying to update the links on my About page here. The links wouldn’t “stick”. No matter how many times I edited the page, the text anchored links were not saving, so I resorted to using images with links instead, which seemed to work. That’s the thing about updated features, sometimes it takes a little time to work the bugs out… I should know this by now. Grr.

Anyway, to go along with the new winter season I figured it was time for a new theme too. There aren’t many that I like available here so I decided to go with the one inspired by an iPad app. I’ll be shopping for my iPad next weekend, so it seemed appropriate. I’m getting Hubby’s birthday present to me is the 16Gig WiFi +3G iPad with the mobile hotspot from Verizon. I can’t wait to get it, and will no doubt be blabbing about it here since riding season has ended yet again.

Tradition dictates our new bikes be rained on the first day

Tradition dictates our new bikes be rained on the first day

This was a great year for riding. Hubby got a new bike, the one he’s always wanted… a Springer SoftTail. I got to do a lot more riding than past summers because I was healthier than I’ve been in a while (passing a kidney stone will do that I suppose). The weather co-operated too, which helped a lot. We spent a few weekends in Lake George which I really enjoyed, and look forward to doing again.

As a congratulatory gift, I bought the matching LePara back seat, with “biker gel”. It’s deceivingly comfortable, and maintains the traditional “old school” look of the Springer. Eventually, he added hard bags (defeating the “old school” look) which were an absolute necessity considering the amount of riding we do. We still have the RoadGlide, but the Springer took most of the miles this summer.

We’re planning some longer trips for next season, at least one weekend get-away. Hubby wants to see the ocean, and I’m looking forward to that. I just hope we go somewhere cool, and don’t wind up in some tourist trap. We’ve pretty much decided to avoid the “biker events” if only to avoid the crowds and price gouging resorts. I’d be perfectly happy pointing the bike south, and seeing where we wind up!

With some of the apps available for the iPad, it should come in very handy during these road trips. One of the things that got me interested in the iPad was that it will fit in the Springer’s hard bags, since I need to keep up with client emails and related Internet tasks during the week. (I can rationalize ANYTHING lol)

Eh. There’s some drama over on IMVU about base product pricing being raised again, so I’m pretty much avoiding that whole mess. I recently added a few products to my catalog, but became disenchanted with the Creator Program as a result. Cute stuff, but the software does little to inspire creativity, to put it mildly.

One of the reasons I decided to post here tonight was Twitter related. Although I follow a lot of WordPress developers and web designers for work reasons, I tend to get really fed up with the self important posts made by some of them. Don’t get me wrong, a lot of the people I follow are really cool, funny, and even entertaining. Some, on the other hand, are the type that post just to see their own names on the web – if you know what I mean.

Eh. It’s to be expected, I suppose. I just get tired of the “I’m an expert because I say so” personalities, and the fact that it’s an accepted practice on the Internet. Personally, I post info that my clients need to be aware of and links that I want to be able to reference later. Twitter is more like a bookmark reservoir for me lol.

I’ve ranted enough for one night. Time to check on FarmVille (yeah I know, hush!) and get some sleep for a change. Tomorrow’s Friday, so there’s that to look forward to I suppose. Another night of listening to how bored everyone is because we can’t ride, or go to the park. I don’t get bored, so it kind of pisses me off that I have to listen to people complain about it. Is it my fault that you’re bored, or is it yours for being boring? Heh. Yep, it’s gonna be another long winter.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
