IMVU news – Catalog offline for hours

It’s not very often that I have an evening to myself, but tonight I get the house to myself… so I had planned on spending the evening creating some new items to add to my IMVU catalog. I look forward to these times, because to me it means “playtime in PhotoShop”. lol

When I sat down at my computer, graphic tablet pen in hand… I was so very disappointed to see this:

sorry-no-catty

Of course, it was being discussed in the forums. I’m glad too, because DA5 gave us a tip on how to get to your items even if the catty is down:

Everyone can get to their products by using their Dev reports link on their hp’s and then going to your products list. Once there scroll and find the product you are looking for and click on it it will load the pp and from there you can do whatever you need to.

As far as I know, the downtime only lasted a couple of hours here on the East Coast… it’s working for me now, so I will get to enjoy some creating playtime tonight after all, whew!

Now Available… uh… Psych!

In other IMVU news, I received an email notice about an official IMVU Blog post about the added feature that will allow us to assign room moderators in our public rooms. When I went to the online blog so I could send out the page link to my Twitter friends, it just wasn’t there. Still isn’t!

imvu-blog-post-ghostI don’t know how the post got sent out through their RSS feed, without showing on the site (unless the post was hidden or deleted after it was published in error or too soon). I haven’t tried to create a room since getting that notification either, so don’t know if it’s actually in effect yet or not… but I am glad I signed up for email notices of their posts lol. Regardless, I hope this is something they do implement soon if it isn’t live yet, because it would be very helpful to the IMVU users that do host public rooms.

IMVU in the News

IMVU grew its revenue primarily by increasing the sale of virtual currency to its members, who use that currency to purchase virtual goods ranging from clothing for their avatars to furniture for their rooms. IMVU’s catalog of virtual goods is the largest in the world, with more than 3 million items created by IMVU members. The daily production of items sold is valued at about 175,000. It is not to my surprise that IMVU recently announced that the company has doubled its revenue in one year to a $25 million run rate and achieved profitability. At peak hours of game play and social network chats, the company estimates that there are close to 770,000 conversations and story lines being produced by members. Their virtual world and communities gain the marketing tools and technical support needed to support this 3D love fest.

dig that last sentence… anyone wanna comment? 😉

  • Who’s the biggest 3D Virtual World Now? These numbers seem a lil ‘skewed’ to anyone else? I mean, I know I’ve been busy lately, but have I really not noticed an increase in membership to 40 million?
Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
