Promising feedback for Vintage Line

Black Vintage Bundle

Black Vintage Bundle

While in the planning stages for the Vintage clothing bundles, I tried to design a more “authentic” look than most present when trying to go for the “flapper” look. The stereotypical sequins, fringe, and feather boas were not what I wanted to do. I had visions of muted shades, smokey speakeasy’s, and delicately ornate dresses with matching accessories that you probably wouldn’t wear with any other outfit. Ahh the good ‘ol days!

There was a scene in a recent episode of True Blood that flashed back to the roaring 20’s, and I think that inspired me to go for the more ‘affluent’ look of the era. I was absolutely thrilled when I found a mesh for the type of hat I wanted, because in my opinion, the short vintage hair is done to death for that look on IMVU.

“Thank you for developing such wonderful 1920’s inspired clothing. I couldn’t believe that’d I’d found such high quality and original garments from that era, in your catalogue- which admittley I’d stumbled upon by chance. What luck!, I thought when trying your peach version of the Flapper dress, so you can imagine my elation when I discovered your whole range. You are ‘ The cat’s pajamas’, WWGinger. Have a marvelous day.”

Vintage Inspiration

Vintage Inspiration

The above feedback from a shopper today convinced me that there is a more mature audience on IMVU after all. One that appreciates authentic, realistic products. Now, I’m not saying that my lil 3D products look “real”… I mean they look like what real people were wearing in the 20’s. I mean, it’s not like the Desperate Housewives of the era went to church or high society events wearing feather boas. Well, maybe they did! LOL

I’m just enjoying the outlet for creativity that IMVU provides me. For a while, I was able to get lost in the fantasy of what I might want to wear if I were going to a secret speakeasy for a night out with Mr. Right. The only thing missing from my bundle is a sleek long cigarette holder, but *sigh* that would have made the bundle available to adults only, and not everyone my age is able to buy products in that category since you have to purchase the “Acess Pass” to wear and use those things.

Vintage with a modern twist

Vintage inspired shoe, with a modern twist

For as much as I enjoy trying my hand at replicating ‘authentic’ period outfits, I will admit that I had fun putting a modern spin on the vintage shoe. There was a definite cause and effect here… because I couldn’t find a decent mesh with a low heel that didn’t make my feet look like a neanderthal, I had to take a non traditional heel and create a shoe ‘reminiscent’ of the flapper era using a modern mesh.

[A mesh is the 3D object that I decorate with my hand painted textures. I haven’t yet started to make my own meshes only because there are so many that do it so much better than I could at the moment. I have everything necessary to do it since I still have all the programs from school… I just don’t have the time to perfect those skills at the moment. Besides, I get to help support the very talented 3D artists in the IMVU community this way. ;)]

I’m very pleased with the result, and went through quiet a few different tries before coming up with something I was satisfied with, but I would still like to find a nice low heel mesh that I can turn into a more authentic vintage shoe.

Three out of the six vintage bundles have been submitted for Peer Review. Bundles always take a lot longer to clear than the individual items, so I have time to finish doing the sales pages for the remaining three colors. Black, Peach and Rose have been submitted. Lavender, Green and Blue should be done soon. The entire collection can be viewed by clicking the banner below.

Vintage clothing line for IMVU by WWGinger available in 6 colors

Vintage clothing line for IMVU by WWGinger available in 6 colors

Share

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
