No riding anytime soon for this wench!

Wow. Looks like we’re in for a pretty nasty storm. TV news said it’s probably going to be mostly ice. Yay. I’m just hoping that we don’t lose power again… that, as the weather man says below, would blow. (I admit, I scoffed at the phrase “there will be considerable blowing and drifting”. Come on, tell me the staff writer didn’t get a chuckle out of that when he wrote the piece. LOL

A foot of snow could blanket parts of region
By CHRISTEN GOWAN, Staff writer
Last updated: 3:48 p.m., Tuesday, January 27, 2009

ALBANY – National Weather Service meteorologists say part of the Capital Region could get up to a foot of snow by the end of Wednesday.

The storm is expected to begin at midnight. Flakes should keep falling until 6 a.m. Thursday.

Both morning and evening commutes Wednesday will be treacherous, with six to 12 inches expected in Albany. Saratoga Springs and all points north can expect at least a foot of snow by the end of the day Wednesday, said weather service meteorologist John Quinlan.

In Albany, the snow will shift over midday to a mixture of sleet and freezing rain, returning to snow in the evening as the temperatures drops.

The trouble doesn’t end there though. Winds will gust to 40 mph Thursday, consistently blowing 15 to 30 miles per hour. “There could be some considerable blowing and drifting,” Quinlan said.

Temperatures will reach the upper 20s through the day Wednesday, and remain cooler north of immediate Capital Region.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
