Weekend full of riding and sun

We all meet at the club house before a ride

We all meet at the club house before a ride

We were lucky enough to have great weather all weekend, so we took full advantage of it. The bonus for me is not having to cook the entire weekend! LOL Seems the most popular thing to do is to take scenic rides that always end at places to eat. This started for us on Friday night, after Hubby helped our friend Drew change the bars on his Sportster. The girls (Drew’s girlfriend Danni and I) hung out in the garage while the guys worked, giving them a hard time about … well everything. 😉

Then we went to the clubhouse to meet up with more friends, just before we took a ride out to the MouseTrap for dinner (had to make sure everything was working right after the garage session after all… sounded like a good excuse at the time anyway. lol) One thing I’ll never get used to about upstate NY is how early everything closes. At 10PM we were pretty limited about where we could go to get served… most kitchens were closed by then. After we ate, a few of us weren’t ready to go home yet (either that, or we were all in need of our coffee fix), so we went to another Dunkin Donuts in downtown Albany, where the people watching is prime right now, with all the college kids back in town.

Saturday, we all met up at the club house for a ride out to Brook’s BBQ. This was a pretty long ride, but the scenery was awesome. A couple of our friends are breaking in their new 2009 Street Glides, so the varied speeds on this ride worked out well. I knew we had reached our destination when I started smelling BBQ a few blocks away from the restaurant. I kinda felt bad for the wife of one of the new Glide owners… she did this almost two hour ride with no sissy bar, and the stock seat. Ouch. The food was really good, and we met up with a couple of other friends that had taken the same ride that day. Add two bikes to the pack for the trip home!

On Sunday, we met up at the club house again, this time to take the ride out to Nick’s Waterfall House. Our cousin and his girlfriend joined us this time, so I actually have some pictures that they took. Nick’s is a biker bar built on the edge of a waterfall, which you can see right from inside the bar. The burgers were huge! It took us a while to get there, having taken all back roads that most of us had never been on before. The scenery was great… fields of sunflowers, mountains, creeks, and even an “Octagon house”.

All the great riding meant many hours in the sun… and for me, that can be a dangerous thing. My neck is still stinging from the burn I got on Saturday. Luckily, my cousin had sunscreen I could use on Sunday… since I forgot to buy some when I went grocery shopping… again. (You know how you usually forget the ONE thing you go for? That’s me!) The shields on my helmets stopped me from getting burned on my face, but my neck is hurting today.

Over all, it was a weekend full of riding, great food, and great company. We traveled in packs of 4, 10 and 9 bikes at any given time… with no incidents. Riding through all the farm country, the locals were really good about letting the entire pack through the traffic all at once. There were a few sportsters along for the rides this time, which was nice… smaller gas tanks meant more stops for gas… which let us passengers stretch our legs, and get the feeling back in our butts! LOL

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
