Why it pays to shop around

Ok, I admit it. I’ve become an impulse buyer, but I blame this on being married to one for almost 20 years now. I used to be one to shop around for alternatives, better prices, etc. One example of my latest impulse buy is the riding jacket I found at the Harley-Davidson dealership this summer.

I was looking for something to gaurd my fair skin from the sun, but at the same time, wasn’t going to give me heat stroke on those hot summer rides. Rain protection was also a factor, considering our weather here in NY lately. I’m not fond of riding without protection from road rash, so after seeing Hubby’s new jacket with all the armor installed… I was considering this as an option too.

Mesh nylon keeps me covered and cool in the summer

Mesh nylon keeps me covered and cool in the summer

We’re big fans of skulls, and devil girl artwork, so when our friend Hell’n at the dealership saw me, she knew she had to show me the new Power Trip jacket she had recently aquired. I instantly fell in love with the design, and it seemed to have all the things I was looking for… mesh nylon to cover me, but let the wind through at the same time… armor for protection, and a removable inner rain proof liner. I was instantly sold, and put in my order for one in my size.

Now, a couple of month later, totally thrilled with the jacket, and being able to ride without getting sunburned… yet staying cool… and dry in the rain…. I went surfing around for information on the jacket to share with another blogger who was suffering the heat and wondering about what everyone else wears. I actually gasped when my search for the Power Trip jacket turned up a different design that I would have wanted instead of the one I got.

The Leopard Print jacket I should have gotten

The Leopard Print jacket I should have gotten

See the leopard print helmet on the header image of this blog? I would have loved to have the white jacket with leopard print filled flames to match it! (I know… I’m such a freak about leopard print, can’t help it!) I should know better by now… I should have shopped around for the jacket before buying the first one I found. *So dissappointed now.*

My birthday’s coming up, so who knows, maybe I’ll be surprised… and if not, maybe I’ll treat myself lol. It certainly wouldn’t be a bad thing to have two mesh jackets. I took the armor out of my black/red jacket, had to in order to zip it up over my chest lol. I should get this leopard one in a bigger size so I can keep the armor in. Isn’t it great how we can rationalize anything when it comes to getting what we want? LOL!

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
