Whatever happened to the calm

… before the storm? The weather here in upstate NY has been crazy, to say the least. It seems like we’re always under “severe thunderstorm watch”, and I can’t remember the last time it didn’t rain at least once in a day. It’s gotten to the point now where we always carry rain gear with us when we ride the motorcycle, and we certainly don’t pass up rides just because of the threat of rain. It’s a pretty safe bet that if you go out, it’s going to rain.

The worst part about all the storms we’ve been having lately is the amount of power outages we’ve had. I’m not talking about the power “blinking” on and off for a few minutes (don’t you hate when the power’s out JUST long enough for you to have to reset the clocks? LOL)… I’m talking about 12, 6, 4 hours at a time. The crazy wind has been wreaking havoc on the power lines. I stayed with my grandmother in Florida one summer, back when I was 6 years old, and this is what I remember the weather being like there. Since when does NY get FL weather? Just weird.

I have several self hosted WordPress sites that I’d like to update, but am afraid to get started on the process just before the power goes out again. That happened to me once already this summer, and I’m not going to let it happen again if I can help it. The v2.6.1 WordPress update is out, so I’ve downloaded it and am just waiting for a break in the weather to get it installed on my sites.

I’m hoping that the WP v2.6.1 update will work on my older versions without experiencing the “lost category” problems. I will post about my findings after I’ve been able to do the updates. (Although it looks like I’ll have to do updates step by step according to this post. Uggh!)  I’ll also be able to report on several plugins that I use and cannot live without.

I took the twins out to lunch today, after I got my nails done so that we could avoid breathing in the powder I treated the carpets with to defeat this strange flea problem we had. I say strange, because our two cats are strictly indoor cats that never go outside. How they got fleas in the first place is beyond me. They don’t seem to mind the flea collars tho, so with any luck, this carpet treatment will do the trick. Now that the carpets are done, I’m busy washing every throw blanket, pillow and cover in the house. I should be done before the sun rises tomorrow lol.

I’m looking forward to a ride up to the “club house” (that’s what we call our local Dunkin Donuts) for a cup of coffee with friends after all this tedious housework. I’m SO not a domestic goddess type! The group of riders that we meet with up at the club house is a good group of people, who are also sick of all the rain, so I hope they show up tonight too… otherwise, I’ll be home before I know it, with no excuse not to “work”!

Comments
2 Responses to “Whatever happened to the calm”
  1. Just try not to get caught in all the damn hail we’ve been having! Stupid weather!

    Anyways, just thought I’d stop in and say hi! 🙂

  2. Ginger says:

    Thanks for the comment! 🙂 My husband got caught in a hail storm a couple of weeks ago, on his way home from work. The roads were flooded, water was up to the foot pegs on his Sportster S, and if it weren’t for the upsweep exhaust, they would have been under too… ever hear the “glug glug” of pipes under water? LOL I hope that never happens when we’re on the RoadGlide!

    Because of the weather this year, we’ve both gotten full face helmets, and visor shields for our half helmets. Now that it’s cooling off at night, maybe the rain will stop… here’s to hopin’!

    Keep the rubber side down!

Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
