WordPress categories issue. TagsRus

After starting this blog a few days ago, (note: I am very familiar with how WP is supposed to work), I created 5 categories and changed my default category from “uncategorized” to “rants and raves”. I no longer have a category named “uncategorized”.

When I’m typing a new post, or editing a published post, the only category shown under the “Categories” section is my default, “rants and raves”. When I click the “All categories” link, it changes to read “Loading…”, but nothing changes… none of my other categories appear in order for me to choose them. As a result, I’m only able to post to one category, my default.

A stroll through the support forums shows that there are many unresolved issues with the categories, so instead of posting about this there, I sent a mail to support using their form. I did this two days ago, and haven’t yet received a response. I use FireFox browser primarily, but even broke my own rules by opening IE browser to see if that would make a difference and it didn’t.

At this point, I guess I’ll just use tags as an alternative to additional categories, which kind of defeats my normal organization of content. I read in the forums that you can’t use more than 12 tags if you want your posts to be included in the tag surfer listings here, so if you’re having this problem, keep that in mind when tagging your posts. I wouldn’t use that many tags normally.

This method of tagging as categories makes me miss the plugin I use on my other sites, “clickable tags” display. With any luck, having your tags displayed in that manner will be added to a future version of WP. It sure would make posting easier. Then again, so would having all your categories available to choose from!

Aside: I just noticed… there’s no “Preview Post” button at the top of my “Write Post” page, like in my self hosted WP 2.6 blogs. I miss it!

Comments
4 Responses to “WordPress categories issue. TagsRus”
  1. Polander says:

    When you will write a new post you may click + Add New Category and put a check mark into its box.

  2. Ginger says:

    @Polander:
    Thanks for responding! You’re right, when you click the link you gave, it’s supposed to display checkboxes… but it doesn’t. Nothing appears. Same with the “All Categories” link.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was hoping that the update in browser would help solve my category issue here at WordPress.com, but I still can’t load “All Categories” when typing a new […]

  2. […] 13, 2008 by Ginger I’m still experiencing the category issue while on the “write post” page. This entry is mostly for me to show WP support […]



Leave a Reply

  • RSS My Design site

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • RSS TalkingTobacco

    • Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker – Book Review December 14, 2015
      I was recently sent a copy of a new book, Sherlock Holmes as a Pipe Smoker, by its author Dr. Thomas Gwinner. Since Sherlockiana is one of my hobbies, I was intrigued by the subject as much has been made about the references to pipes, tobaccos, cigars and cigarettes in the Canon. What made this […]
      Russ
  • RSS Cigar Events

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • GingerWench.com

    As a web designer, I spend way too much time on the Internet - I admit it openly. I build, maintain, and manage social media for local small businesses. As you can imagine, this keeps me very busy. If you're interested in seeing what I do professionally, feel free to browse my design site.
  • WWG IMVU Catalog

    IMVU is a 3D Chat program. I design and create clothing, tattoos, hair and jewelry for the avatars we use there. Although I don't chat on the program more than is necessary to test my products, I do enjoy the creative outlet. To see what I've created, check out WWGinger's Catalog.
